Review: Just Life

Just Life
Just Life by Neil Abramson
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This review is also available on my blog, Read Till Dawn.

Whew, this book is heavy.


I mean, it’s got the whole animal euthanasia plotline about Sam’s attempts to protect New York’s dog population during the outbreak, but it also has a lot of poignant discussions about animal abuse, the use of animals in medical testing, human abuse (including one memory of a sexual assault and another of the discovery of a gruesome murder), substance abuse, and more. The main characters each carry their own heavy, terrible baggage and they must learn to cope with it throughout the course of the book in order to do their best for the dogs who are being pinned (with little to no evidence) for the spread of a dangerous new virus that is affecting and killing children.

Honestly, I didn’t really like the book that much. It was a little too gritty, too painful, and too explicit. The language was really bad and the description of violence was too extreme for my tastes. Also, the descriptions of animal cruelty and of the euthanasia process were way too much for this animal lover. It’s absolutely heartbreaking to read about how the innocent, loving creatures who are put down because no one will love them back!

Setting aside the strong language and my emotional reaction to the violence, Just Life is definitely a very thought-provoking read that makes a good jumping-off point for interesting debates. The characters are diverse and pretty well-rounded, and Sam is even pretty likeable (though her sort-of romance plotline feels really forced). If you’re a little less sensitive than I am, you might like this book much more than I did.

As it is, I’m handing off my copy to the Little Free Library by my house and making sure to give my dog lots of extra pats. It’s been a roller-coaster month as my sweet old boxer has been slowly losing control over her hind legs, and I really don’t need any sad books about dying dogs lying around while watching her deteriorate. Come to think of it, my dog’s health problems may also have affected my reaction to the book; if so, I’m sorry I can’t give a more unbiased review. If anyone else has read Just Life, please let me know in the comments what you thought of it!

Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy of this book to participate in a TLC book tour.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

